Allied Health

Arts, Business & Information Technologies

Engineering Technology

Hospitality

Natural Resources

Nursing

Public Safety Services

Students

Collapse Expand Academic Support
Collapse Expand English as a Second Language
Collapse Expand Graduation
Collapse Expand Housing
Collapse Expand Library
Collapse Expand Life at Hocking
Collapse Expand Online Tools
Collapse Expand Parents
Collapse Expand Pay for College
Collapse Expand Scheduling & Registration
Collapse Expand Services
Collapse Expand Student Affairs
Collapse Expand Transfer Programs
Banner image
  • Send Page to Friend
  • Print This Page
Research Databases

Academic Search Complete

Provides full text for nearly 5,300 scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. This is a good starting point for research.

Alt HealthWatch

Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

American & English Literature

Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.

American Fisheries Society Journals (ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY)

Full-text articles (access is limited to past 15 years) from Fisheries, Journal of Aquatic Animal Health, North American Journal of Aquaculture, North American Journal of Fisheries Management, and Transactions of the American Fisheries Society. Off-campus access to this resource is not available.

Ancestry Library Edition (ON-CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY)

Powered by Ancestry.com, this resource delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more. Off-campus access to this resource is not available.

Art Full Text

Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.

Business Source Complete

Full text for over 9,500 scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.

CINAHL (Nursing & Allied Health)

Index, abstracts and full-text of the literature of nursing and allied health. This is the best choice for Nursing students.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

Information and current trends in high technology.

Consumer Health Complete

Provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Users can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.

EBSCO eBook Collection

A library of electronic books on many academic subjects.

Electronic Book Center

Contains the full texts of thousands of scholarly and reference e-books from several publishers, covering many subject areas.

Electronic Journal Center (EJC)

Provides access to more than 4,300 scholarly journals and 3 million research articles from 16 different publishers. Good for in-depth research.

Environment Complete

Index and abstracts to literature relating to environmental issues. Also contains full-text for over 400 journals.

ERIC

"The world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. It covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials."

GreenFILE

Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Health Source : Consumer Edition

Provides consumer health information on various topics, including general health, nutrition, sports medicine, and childcare.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Humanities International Complete

Includes over 2000 subject-related titles, including 770 with full-text.

Learning Express Library

Offers online, interactive practice tests, career building tools, and writing aids. To take a test, you must first set up your own individual account while at an authenticating site (on campus or at an Ohio public library or school).

Legal Collection

Contains over 250 journals related to topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, and organized crime.

Lexi-PALS Drug Guide

A database of patient advisory leaflets for medications.

Lexis-Nexis

News, business, legal, medical, and reference information.

Literary Reference Center Plus

Provides information on thousands of authors and their works. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, and work overviews.

Mango Language Learning Center

Mango is an online language-learning system that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. It also offers English language lessons if English is not your first language. You will need Java and Flash to use Mango.

MasterFILE Premier

This database, covering nearly all subjects, is designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.

MEDLINE with Full Text

Index, abstracts and full-text of journal articles in the health sciences.

Music Center (OhioLINK)

Features more than 78,000 tracks and 21,000 works from the Naxos Music Library. Users can search for and listen to tracks in six genres -- Chinese music, classical music, opera, jazz, spoken word and world music. Flash player is required.

Natural and Alternative Treatments

Contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.

Newspaper Source

Provides full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, and nine newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times.

Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection (ON CAMPUS ACCESS ONLY)

This collection features full-text articles from 5 core nursing journals: AJN, Home Healthcare Nurse, Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, and Nursing Made Incredibly Easy. When the search screen loads, you have 3 options. "Your journals @Ovid" limits your search to just our subscriptions (the core nursing journals mentioned). If you select "all" or "journals @Ovid full-text", your search will include other nursing journals which will NOT be full-text (citations/abstracts only). Off-campus access to this resource is not available.

Points of View Reference Center

Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Points of View can be used as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

More than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Regional Business News

A full-text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.

Safari Books Online

Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields.

Science Reference Center

Provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content, including full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

SIRS Issues Researcher

Covers social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Great resource for contemporary/controversial issues research.

SocINDEX

Covers all areas of sociology, and features full-text content for 332 "core" coverage journals.

SportDiscus

Contains over 400 journals related to sports and sports medicine.

Vocational and Career Collection

Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.

Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success

Provides resources to boost basic workplace and job search skills, and prepare job seekers for advanced occupational training. The interactive, self-paced learning approach allows job seekers to learn at their convenience, and the intuitive platform provides the backbone students and all jobseekers need to succeed in the modern workplace. To use the tools, you first set up your own individual account. If you are off-campus, first use OhioLINK remote authentication proxy URL (or your institution's off-campus access method) to connect, and then log into LearningExpress with your individual account.

Library
Davidson Hall, First Floor
3301 Hocking Parkway
Nelsonville, OH 45764
740.753.6332
E-mail